Current Obsession: Hidden Figures

hidden_figures
In Theaters now! Rated -PG

HIDDEN FIGURES is the incredible untold story of Katherine G. Johnson (Taraji P. Henson), Dorothy Vaughan (Octavia Spencer) and Mary Jackson (Janelle Monáe)-brilliant African-American women working at NASA, who served as the brains behind one of the greatest operations in history: the launch of astronaut John Glenn into orbit, a stunning achievement that restored the nation’s confidence, turned around the Space Race, and galvanized the world. The visionary trio crossed all gender and race lines to inspire generations to dream big.

hidden-colors-facebook
Girl Power!! These women are a true inspiration

From the moment I saw the preview one night with my boyfriend I told him we have to go see this movie, but first, I have to read the book. I always read the books before seeing a film based off a book. I’m weird I know, but you get so much more out of reading the book, way much more detail in my opinion.

I just got the book this week, all thanks to my sister (Jen) who ordered it for me,  since all the books were checked out at my local library. Jen’s the real MVP. HAHA! She’s probably reading this right now. HEY GURL HEY! Thank you for the book!!

Back to Hidden figures,  this means so much to me because this is just their story imagine how many more untold stories there are of women who were a part of history. I wish I knew of this when I was younger, but by Margot sharing their story, many little girls are learning of this and inspiring them. Which makes me so happy, I’ll definitely be sharing this story with my kids in the future their story is a part of history.

hidden-figures-13

“There is something to be said for a well-told tale with a clear moral and a satisfying emotional payoff.”
A. O. Scott
The NYTimes

“Far from a dry scientific tutorial or historical treatise, “Hidden Figures” is a warm, lively, often funny depiction of women whose brains and work ethic were indefatigable.”
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post

landscape-1482259638-hidden-figures-df-05465-rgb

Leave a Reply

